Love and the Cabbie

In college, when my professors were training the Special Education majors to one day become teachers themselves, they called this idea “Catch them being good.”

They talked about how a young child (or anyone, really) becomes what they are labeled and what they focus on. They said things like:

  • Don’t call a student shy; praise them when they speak up.
  • Don’t say “You are bad at math;” praise them in detail about why they got a certain problem right.
  • Don’t harshly tell a student to sit still and be quiet; calmly redirect the student who is distracting the class and quietly praise him when he is behaving well.

This idea of sincere positive praise seems to work in a multitude of situations — even with my hubby!  Shhhh!  😉

Ofthestory

healing_power_of_words

‘I was in New York the other day and rode with a friend in a taxi. When we got out, my friend said to the driver, “Thank you for the ride. You did a superb job of driving.”

The Taxi driver was stunned for a second. Then he said, “Are you a wise guy or something?”

“No, my dear man, and I’m not putting you on. I admire the way you keep cool in heavy traffic.”

“Yeah,” the driver said and drove off.

“What was that all about?” I asked.

“I am trying to bring love back to New York,” he said. “I believe it’s the only thing that can save the city.”

“How can one man save New York?”

“It’s not only one man. I believe I have made that taxi driver’s day. Suppose he has 20 fares. He’s going to be nice to those 20 fares because someone…

View original post 546 more words