Image

Photo 101: Moment 3.0

Day 13 goal:  Capture a fleeting moment while emphasizing the blur of motion.

That moment when you look at the empty rocking chair and realize she will never rock in it again…

empty rocking chair in motion with monogrammed pillow on table beside it

This image is dedicated to my neighbor, Betty Ferguson, who used to rock in a chair exactly like this one.

The Princess Bride reference was supplied by my daughter, who made the pillow for me as a Christmas gift.  Here’s a clip from that sweet little comedy/romance/action film which was released in the late 1980s:

~~~~~~~

I’m always desiring to learn and improve upon my photography.  If you have the time, I’d really appreciate hearing your opinion:  Would you compare this post to the previous two and leave a comment telling me which one you like best and why?  Thanks!

Moment 2.0 — A fleeting portal through slowly-swirling clouds made an interesting image.

Moment 1.0 — A chicken bathing in…dirt?  Yes, there were many humorous motion-filled moments captured for this theme the first time I participated in Photo 101.

7 thoughts on “Photo 101: Moment 3.0

  1. What a wonderful post. So sorry about your neighbor who died. I am sure this rocking chair reminds you of her. Loved the clip from Princess Bride, have watched that picture numerous times and always enjoyed every part of that lovely movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes…I set up my camera on a tripod and put it on the setting for shutter speed priority. I would give the chair a push, then jump back and take photos. I adjusted the shutter speed up and down until I got the desired effect. My family laughed at me leaping back and forth.

      Thanks so much for your kind offer of the award. I’m honored! I hope you don’t mind, but I’d like to decline participating. It’s only because I barely find the time to post on my blog and read a few of the blogs I follow. This past year I’ve been trying to learn to say “no” to a few things so I can keep up with life better. 🙂 I really appreciate it, though!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome. What's on your mind?

