Intentional Focus

I believe multi-tasking is a bit of a fallacy that can diminish our joy in life. We are rarely as efficient and effective while spreading out our attention as when we concentrate on one task at a time.

Developing a focused attention span, self-control, and concern for those around us are all important topics discussed in this post by Eric Tonningsen. It’s a great read I wanted to share.

Eric Tonningsen's Awakening to Awareness

focus4

“There are two kinds of people in the world – those who walk into a room and say ‘Here I am’ and those who say ‘There you are.'” ~ Abigail Van Buren

Looking east this evening at the sunset’s reflection on the Sandia (‘watermelon’ in Spanish) Mountains, I was reminded of the elusive green flash. Green flashes are optical phenomena that sometimes occur right after sunset or right before sunrise. The green appearance usually lasts for no more than a second or two. They were first observed and photographed in 1960.

I say ‘elusive’ because I have witnessed countless sunsets from mountain tops, Key West, and San Diego beaches where I focused exclusively on glimpsing a green flash. And once, it presented.

That flash would have been missed had I not been focused; had I not been concentrating on it, exclusively. Yet focusing can be challenging for many people.

focus

Every…

View original post 339 more words