Image

Poultry Animosity

Meet “Little Roo.”  He first appeared on this blog as a tiny fluffball of only two or three weeks old.  He’s bantam mix of a cochin and a silkie, hence the purple comb and wattles.

brown and cream rooster standing in snow, Silkie Cochin bantam mix

A cutie, right? What a sweet little guy, huh? Well…

Now he’s a big (as he’s going to get), bad adult rooster.  And I mean “bad” literally because he has a bad case of “little man syndrome.”  He’s the meanest rooster we’ve ever owned, and he has a definite grudge against my rubber yard clogs.  I did a photo shoot to show you how ornery this beautifully-feathered guy is.

small rooster with hackles raised who looks like he's tap dancing

We taught him to tap dance, too! Nah, just kidding, he’s fluffing his hackles and wings in attack mode there.

 

small rooster in the snow glaring at a shoe

Look at that glare — oh, how he hates my blue clogs!

 

small rooster with wings outspread attacking a shoe with his spurs

Full-out attack mode! His spurs have not developed yet, but I can tell he will know exactly how to use them when they do grow in!

 

small rooster ducking below shoe in his face

He ducked when I stuck my foot out to renew his attack for more photos. What an agile little guy!

 

small rooster flying sideways to attack shoe

Sorry about the poor camera angles. It’s really hard to do a close-up photo shoot of a moving target while defending yourself.

 

small rooster biting shoe

This boy doesn’t peck; he bites and tears like a crocodile. Once he latches on to something, he shakes his head from side to side and won’t let go.

 

small rooster attacking shoe, one wing up and one down like a dancer

The quality on this photo is not good because we were in the shade, but the image was too funny to overlook. This must be his version of the funky chicken dance.

 

I’d like to assume Little Roo is merely “cangry” due to the snow; but no, he’s this way all the time.  He’s really great to the hens; so as long as he doesn’t become too much trouble for us to safely handle, I suppose we will have regular boxing matches for years to come.

(What’s “cangry”?  Oh, sorry, that’s cold + angry…a silly joke from a previous post.)

~~~ Unfortunate Update ~~~

Wow, what a coincidence this post got pushed back until today! (The photos were taken on January 23rd.)  Less than 24 hours after this published, Little Roo’s fate has been decided.

I responded to a couple of comments on this post and went outside to enjoy the sunshine.  In the distance, I saw my daughter sparring in the chicken pen with this stubborn fowl.

My daughter tried to pick him up and calm him, as has always worked with roosters we’ve had in the past. He put two swollen lumps on her wrists and ripped fluff off of her furry coat.

Warning, gross part coming! — She put him down, and he fought so hard against her feet that he caught his toenail under hers (she was in flip flops as usual) and ripped off his own toenail!  Luckily for him, I went in the pen and grabbed him to allow my daughter to leave.  That’s when blood started running all over my hand as I held him by the legs.  We probably wouldn’t have known about his wound if I had not picked him up.

A few spoonfuls of peroxide and several paper towels later, I was able to stop the bleeding on his toe, clean him up, and calm him down.

Both parties are now in their separate corners nursing their wounded feet.  Lol

Little Roo will be relocated by the end of the week.  Poor dumb dude.  I really think he would fight another rooster to the death.

12 thoughts on “Poultry Animosity

    • Unfortunately, that’s very doubtful. He’ll be worse when his spurs grow in. Maybe we’ll have more effective techniques for handling him before then because he is good to the hens, at least. And he’s oh, so cute! 🙂

      The whole neighborhood will be upset with me if I get rid of him. They all love him!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just read your update. 😦

        When we first got our chicks last year (see my early blog posts for details), we had 17 roosters and 3 hens. Later, we got some Rhode Island Reds and 12 of those were boys, as well. We had this one sexlink – we called him Gold Boy because he was mostly all golden yellow feathers. He was pure evil. He didn’t do the ‘jump up and spur people’ thing, like your little roo has been doing, but he would chase people across the barnyard and attack (peck) their legs and feet. He had a posse of other roosters, 5 or 6 in total, who followed him around like a little band of thugs, and did whatever he was doing. They almost killed a RiR during the integration process.

        Given how many, I didn’t think to rehome them. We sent them to ‘freezer camp’ and they’ve been good eating every since.

        I’m sorry your little guy is so vicious, and I hope your daughter is okay.

        Liked by 1 person

      • My daughter will be fine, thanks. She’s just sore.

        That’s quite an abundance of roos! We’re too squeamish to make dumplings out of any of our animals. If I had to kill and clean my own meat, I would easily decide to become a vegetarian. ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

  1. You must watch out when this boy gets his spurs. They can truly hurt you with those spurs. I doubt that I would keep this onery rooster. My grandmother had a terribly mean rooster and we never went near him, we were afraid of him. Life is too short to deal with this mean critter. Try some pink clogs – perhaps he thinks you are a boy because you wear blue. lol

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome. What's on your mind?

