Thankful from the Top of my Head to the Tips of my Toes!

Have you ever been upset about a situation and had someone come up to you and say “Oh, don’t get all bent out of joint over it”?  Maybe not.  It’s a phrase I haven’t really heard since I was a child.

Well, yesterday I was literally “bent out of joint”!  At least, I think my toe was…

FRAGILE HANDLE WITH CARE, red and white label

Have you thought about how fragile we are?  While I was processing a deer with my family in the fall, I shuddered when I thought about how my bones, tendons, and muscles were no stronger than those we were quickly cutting into steaks and roasts.  I’m frequently reminded of my frailty because I bruise so easily — and because of the aches and pains I wake to more often these days.

How often do you feel grateful for your health?  Even if some parts of your body aren’t working so well, other parts are.  If nothing else, your brain is functioning well enough to read and understand a blog!  There are always aspects of health for which to be thankful.

That brings me back to my toe.  Yesterday when I awoke, the “pinkie” toe on my right foot was in terrible pain.

feet sticking out from under the covers in bed

“What?!” I thought. “I was sleeping! How could I have hurt myself sleeping?”

[To save your valuable time, I’ll fast-forward to the end of the story:]

We had plans for that evening (which I almost skipped), and my daughter and I decided to go out to eat first.  As I hobbled around the house getting ready and debating out loud whether we should go at all, my daughter shook her head and laughed,  “All this over a little baby toe?!”

He laughter abruptly stopped when she witnessed my inability to brake the car quickly (the fact that I was moaning out loud probably added to the effect).  I almost overshot the entrance to the restaurant, which was flanked on both sides by a narrow, deep ditch.

When she gave thanks before our meal, she included “and please keep us safe tonight and help us to get back home safely.”  This took me by surprise and elicited a snort of laughter that turned a few heads at the next table.  A little pinkie toe had my child fearing for her life!  Lol

We safely arrived back home that night, though pains were still shooting in my foot as I got out of the car.  When I stepped into the house, however, 90% of the pain suddenly vanished!  I was confused but very thankful that it felt much better for the rest of the evening.

This morning, I stretched slowly as I came out of sleep, but stopped short due to a jolt of pain.  My toe was hooked on the edge of a small fleece blanket I keep in the bed because I get so cold in the winter.  Aha, mystery solved!  I must have done the same thing the day before and popped my toe out of joint.  It must have popped back into place that evening, perhaps due to the sock or shoe I wore?

~~~~~~~

The bible compares the church to a body and describes how each small part (each tiny toe!) contributes to the whole body.  If one part is “out of joint,” the whole body is affected.

Christ is the head of the church, his body, and is himself its Savior.

~  Ephesians 5:23

For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ.

The eye cannot say to the hand, “I have no need of you,” nor again the head to the feet, “I have no need of you.”  On the contrary, the parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable

God has so composed the body, giving greater honor to the part that lacked it, that there may be no division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another.  If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together.

~ 1 Corinthians 12:12, 21-26,

The scriptures also compare Christ’s body (the church) to being a family, with God as the Father.

See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are.

~ 1 John 3:1

The truth I’ve been reminded of this week, by my painful little toe, is that everyone is important and valuable.  Another person’s joy or grief should touch me personally, as we go along life’s path together.

Whether you are spending this holiday season with physical family or spiritual family (church members/friends/loved-ones), I hope you will treat each person around you with respect and love and that they will do the same in return.

 Wishing you happy holidays and a bright new year,

Merry Hearts Medicine watermark. MerryHeartsMedicine.wordpress.com

winter scene Happy Holidays

3 thoughts on “Thankful from the Top of my Head to the Tips of my Toes!

  1. Glad your toe got better. Funny how something so little can cause such pain and problems. It seems as if we begin to fall apart in middle age, not old age. Arghhhh Liked the scriptures at the end of your post, each part of the body as compared to each part of the church are all important. Every person on this earth is important.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome. What's on your mind?

