Fighting an Uphill Battle

This poem is dedicated to my mother, who is a true, tough “soldier” in this world. The words in this poem represent the message her example shows to me. May I one day have even a tenth of her fortitude in the face of adversity!

man dangling from rock cliff by fingertips

photo by Bill Hatcher

When you seek and you pray

But the answer seems to be “NO,”

When you search and you’ve tried

Every way you know how to go,

When you climb and you claw

Up steep mountains that only grow

Until you can’t see the top

Where you long to be,

Until the one you’ve become

Is no longer “me,”

Until hope begins to fade

Because you can’t see

How to escape

the suffering and pain,

How to find light

Through the darkness and rain,

How to stand tall

And start living again

The life you once knew.

So, what can you do?

First, trust in Him Who

Can carry you through.

His love can renew

The broken and blue.

He’ll be true to you.

with love,Merry Hearts Medicine watermark. MerryHeartsMedicine.wordpress.com

 

When I said, “My foot slips;” Your mercy, O Lord, held me up.

In the multitude of my thoughts within me, Your comforts delight my soul.

~~Psalm 94:18-19

5 thoughts on “Fighting an Uphill Battle

  1. Beautiful poem. Brought tears to my eyes. You are a wonderful daughter to your Mother. Life is full of struggles and many seem unsurmountable. Faith in God is the only thing that can get anyone through the spiritual, mental, physical problems of life. Excellent post.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome. What's on your mind?

