Image

Strange Photographer Selfies

Macro photography has fascinated me of late, though I don’t have the best equipment for pursuing it.  While looking through recent photos on my computer, I zoomed in on the “bug traffic jam” in this first picture and realized that my reflection was showing up on the beetle’s shiny black shell.  Can you see me?

millipede walking across a rock in front of a shiny black beetle

The fast-moving beetle was cut off in traffic by the longer, slower millipede. Don’t you just hate when that happens? Lol

reflection of a photographer in a beetle's shiny shell

I saw my reflection in a photo of our resident bunny, too.  It wasn’t very clear, so I grabbed my camera and purposefully captured a rabbit-eye-selfie.

rabbit relaxing in the grass while watching an Easter egg hunt next door

It took me a while to figure out that the fuzzy gray dots all over this photo were caused by a swarm of gnats that flew between me and my nervous subject.

reflection of a photographer in a rabbit's eye

Here’s another from a different day.

extreme close up of a rabbit's eye, showing reflections

You’ll never guess what momma bunny was doing when I took this photo. She was watching dozens of kids across the street having an Easter egg hunt! The dark, curving lines are reflections the of wild green onions that quickly grow tall in our yard between mowings.

Can’t leave out a chicken-eye-selfie!

close up of chicken's face with oatmeal hanging from her beak

Yes, that’s a reflection of me in front of a window — we had the chicken inside our house to do some health maintenance (I’ll spare you the gross details Lol).

reflection of photographer in hen's eye

~~~UPDATES~~~

This “selfie” was taken on purpose.  I wasn’t going to share it, but I was inspired to add it anyway after seeing a post by Rita Hueston on her blog Tidbits and Tales.

silhouette of a woman, trees, and sky reflected in a puddle

 ~~~~~~~

Have any Strange Photographer Selfies surprised you in your photos?  Please share them or describe them in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Strange Photographer Selfies

  1. I would say you are getting good at selfies and macro photography. Enjoyed your photos, very nice post. Have a mama rabbit and her one small baby running all around my husband’s shop.
    There were two babies, but one has disappeared.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome. What's on your mind?

