Link

Links to Joy: Mothers and Grandmothers

Family relationships take many forms, ranging from fabulous fulfillment to frightening failure.  Today I want to focus on the brighter side of this spectrum.

A special bond I’ve shared throughout my life is the multi-generational “girl power” shared between grandmother, mother, and grandchild.  I remember loving the time spent with my mom & grandmother as a child, whether we were shopping at Yellow Front or Alco (remember those old stores?), taking camping trips on motorcycles to places like Yellowstone National Park, or turning up the radio to sing and dance in the living room.  Even while typing this post, I sit here smiling as I recall those special times spent with my loved-ones.

My grandmother is no longer living, but, thankfully, this triple bond has filtered down a generation to include my daughter.  She is blessed to be near both of her grandmothers and has enjoyed many memorable experiences and traditions with them.

My daughter can fondly recall many days with her grandmothers that involved taking walks, playing games, camping, afternoon shopping trips, picnics, and many other fun times.  She honored me a few days ago by saying she hoped to raise her future children similar to the way we are raising her and hoped that her children will have as great of a childhood as she’s had.  How many teenagers are that grateful and think in such terms?  (Wow, I’m so blessed!)

This month is an exciting time for our family trio — it’s time to go on our third annual Girl Trip to Hot Springs, AR!  Don’t get me wrong, we love the men in our family!  But there’s a unique joy in having a girls’ day out to laugh and play and do all those girly things we girls do.  ha ha  This year we are bringing one of my daughter’s best friends with us, and I have a nice surprise in store for them all (I’d mention it here, but I don’t want anyone to find out prematurely).

The three of us have become photo bugs this year and are looking forward to honing our photography skills while capturing images of beautiful outdoor spaces and interesting architecture.  Hopefully, I will soon have a heart full of new happy memories and a camera full of impressive (ha ha) photos to share with you…

~~~~~

Do you have special activities or traditions with your friends or family that you’d like to share?  I would enjoy hearing your stories!

6 thoughts on “Links to Joy: Mothers and Grandmothers

  1. Family is everything to me, my parents before my mum got Alzheimer’s played an incredible part in both my son and daughters life, they still do just different.
    Walks, connecting with nature, baking, trips to the coast. Grandparents are wonderful and play an important role.
    Loved your post thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post is both lovely & sad for me at the moment as my mother-in-law unexpectedly passed away last month & my daughter (the only grand daughter) was VERY close to her gran & is finding it hard to come to terms with. They shared a bond unlike that between her & the grand sons. Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your story. I’m sorry for your loss and will keep your family in my thoughts and prayers.

      Life is so fragile, and we so often take our health, and life in general, for granted. We much cherish our loved-ones each day they are with us.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful and loving tribute to the women in your life. I was never near either of my grandmothers, so I never had the bond that your daughter has with her grandmothers. A lot of people never realize just how important grandparents are to their children. This is such a nice post, you did such a good job, I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are great! I have happy memories of afternoons spent with my mom, my aunt, and my grandma, but usually we were all together as a family, not just us girls. I grew up close to my grandparents, and my in-laws just moved closer to us so they can be near our kids, which makes me very happy because it’s much easier to make family memories when your family isn’t an hour and a half away. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome. What's on your mind?

