Image

Critters and Varmints

critter

/ˈkrɪtər/

noun

1.  (US & Canadian) a dialect word for creature

— Collins English Dictionary – Complete & Unabridged 2012 Digital Edition

Having family in the Missouri and Arkansas Ozarks, I’ve learned various “countryfied” words to add to my vocabulary.  Not that I actually use all of these words, but I do know a few funny ones such as:

  • “poke” (n. a sack or bag.  “Hand me that there poke and I’ll stick these taters in it fer ya so you can tote ’em home.”)
  • “sumpin” (n. something.  “Ma, I’m bored!  I need sumpin to do!”)
  • “ain’t”  (v. is not, are not, has not, have not…you get the idea.  “Ain’t you got supper ready yet?”)
  • “reckon” (v. think.  “You reckon we oughta head home?  It’s gettin’ purty late!”)
  • “feller” (n. a man.  “BillyBob?  Ain’t he that feller that bought BettySue’s old place down at Turkey Creek holler?”)
  • “purt-near” and “plumb” (adv. almost & adv. completely.  “I heard you was feelin’ puny.  You back to your old self yet?”  …  “Well, purt-near, but not plumb.”)

The list could go on for miles, but I’ll only mention one more one for you to enjoy:

varmint

[vahr-muh nt]
noun

Chiefly Southern and South Midland U.S.

  1. vermin.
  2. an objectionable or undesirable animal, usually predatory, as coyote or bobcat.

— Dictionary.com Unabridged (Based on the Random House Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2015.)

Today I’d like to share recent photos of creatures that those in the Ozarks might label as “springtime critters and varmints“:

~~~~~POST SCRIPT~~~~~

After fencing in the garden to allow us to enjoy the bunnies AND fresh produce, I found out why she hung around the garden so often:  she had five babies hidden right in the center of my garden!  It’s crazy to me how wild rabbits make their nests in open areas; it makes me wonder how many I may have injured while using the riding mower in the yard.

2 thoughts on “Critters and Varmints

  1. Wow, folks talk funny down in your neck of the woods. You captured those critters real well. Am surprised the mom bunny found the babies and took care of them after you moved them. Enjoyed this post very much, good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. The mother bunny has gotten used to us and lets me get within five feet of her now. My daughter saw two rabbits the other evening when she went to lock up the chickens in their coop. One rabbit was running in wild, panicked circles while the mother bunny just sat and stared at her as she walked by. ha ha

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome. What's on your mind?

