Image

Photography 101: Street

Day 2:  The theme for the second day was “Street” and the focus was on capturing an establishing shot (“a wide-angle photo that sets up a scene”).

Now that the rain, sleet, and snow have finished falling, I was able to go find a winter scene for this assignment.

a small-town street covered in snow with ruts and footprints

I didn’t capture a focal point in the foreground on this shot, like the assignment mentioned, but I did get a wide angle view.  I guess you can just imagine yourself in the foreground, getting ready to make a snow angel near the brick building or getting ready to pelt the photographer with a snowball! ha ha

I experimented with three camera settings for this assignment:  “Snow” (Yes, I have a snow setting on my camera…Who knew?), “Auto,” and “Aperture Priority” (which I mentioned in the previous post).

  1. The Snow setting, of course, helped control the brightness of the glare off the snow, and it gave the best results in most of my shots.
  2. The Auto setting gave a somewhat unattractive blue tint to the snow, especially when I tried to take close-ups.  It showed the most detail on tree branch shadows in the snow, though.
  3. The Aperature Priority setting, I have decided, is best for taking shots in darker situations, rather than bright daylight in the snow.  The details of the snow were washed out with this setting, and the ruts in the street looked pinkish.

Here are photos of water running in a ditch, using the different settings:

Here’s a few more photos I took, just for fun.  They were all taken with the Snow setting.

Opinions and ideas on this post are most appreciated!

16 thoughts on “Photography 101: Street

  1. Good photos. Interesting to see results of the different settings. I have a question. In the picture of the church with the sun at the upper corner–I’m wondering if your lens was pointed toward the sun? I’m careful not to point my lens toward the sun or bright lights because the instructions say that might damage your eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I was pointing the camera at the sun. I had sunglasses on and it was so bright outside I could barely tell what I was shooting. I’m glad I was able to get any decent photos.

      Thanks for the tip! Usually I look at what I’m shooting via the flip-out screen on my camera. I will be sure to do that every time I point toward the sun!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, eyesight is precious. We take many blessings like that for granted.

        It was interesting to see the effects the different camera settings had on the sun. I think that was the auto setting–the others turned the sun into a hazy blob (looked more like a flaw on the photo than the sun).

        Like

      • Canon Powershot S3 IS. I’ve had it for years. After pulling out the user guide book, I see it says copyright 2006 on the back. I need to sit down and read through the book again, since I haven’t in years.

        The flower photo was taken with my mother’s camera: a Fujifilm FinePix S700. It’s a little bit of a frustrating camera and often takes inferior photos compared to mine. I got lucky with the daffodils.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have a Fuji camera, too. It’s good for close ups. And it’s moisture-proof, but I can’t put my copyright notice on the photos. I’ve not figured out why the program won’t work with them. Must be something to do with the size, and it probably can be adjusted if I knew how to do it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Moisture-proof is a definite plus. That’s why I did my rain photos for Photo 101 from within my carport.

        Well, I’d love to help you with the copyright notice, but that kind of thing is beyond me at the moment, too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I clicked on the ‘read more’ option, because your very first photo reminded me of last winter, when I was managing a ski lodge and the street behind our lodge looked pretty much just like that. Your whole post made me feel a bit nostalgic, because I don’t know when I will be skiing again. And skiing is… Well, let’s just say learning to ski was a turning point in my life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog, and thanks for sharing! Your comment reminds me of something that happened to me at a store a couple of days ago.

      Since it was raining and the parking lot was slightly downhill, I was leaning over on the cart, pushing with my feet, and riding down the hill to get to the car faster. (Yes, I still act like a kid at times. Lol) Someone yelled at me, “You made my day! Are you a snow skiier?” He was surprised when I said no, and he said I looked like a skier.

      Did you ever train anyone to ski on a shopping cart? Lol

      Like

Comments are always welcome. What's on your mind?

