Image

Photography 101: Bliss

Day 4:  Today’s theme is “Bliss,” and the lesson is on how to add captions, alt text, descriptions, etc. to your photos.

Bliss to me is one thing:  MY HEAVENLY FATHER.  I love God and all the wonderful things He has done for me.  He is so good to each and every one of us, whether we appreciate it or not.

photo of a bible with a mural of tree, sun, and clouds in background

This photo includes a bible and a mural in my daughter’s room and is what I chose as a symbol of God and His creation.

The bible in this photo is open to one of my favorite passages:

Psalm 100  “Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands!  Serve the Lord with gladness!  Come before His presence with singing.  Know that the Lord, He is God.  It is He that has made us, and not we ourselves; we are His people and the sheep of His pasture.  Enter into His gates with thanksgiving and into His courts with praise!  Be thankful unto Him and bless His name, for the Lord is good!  His mercy is everlasting, and His truth endures to all generations.”

I kept the camera on the “Aperture Priority” setting for all my shooting today, which is designed to optimize the lighting in photos.  It often allows the flash to work and produce a better-quality photo during situations when the “Auto” setting seems determined to take bad photos without the flash.

Look how different the scene looks without the flash (still on the Aperture Priority setting):

This photo is a totally different color when I don't use the flash.

You will think me crazy when you see what I set up in order to be able to capture this photo by myself.  I ran a string behind the bible’s binding and tied it to a t.v. tray with another bible propping it up from behind.

The photo wasn’t working out well because the bible was too far below the section of mural I wanted to use, so I then set the t.v. tray up on a fold-out bed/chair.  If you ever lose your sanity like I did and wish to try something similar, use wide ribbon through the book’s spine.  The yarn was a little hard on it.  (I make poor decisions when it’s past my bedtime! Lol)

Bible tied to t.v. tray with string; tray stacked on cushions

I liked the end product of this process.  I think the skinny vertical image would make a great bookmark, especially with some words added above or below the photo.  Say, those might make nice gifts for my friends and family!  (Shhh…don’t tell!  It will ruin the surprise!)

Thanks again for looking at more of my photos!  Does anyone have advice on ways I can improve my photography?  (other than avoiding damaging books…I figured that one out on my own!  Ha ha)

4 thoughts on “Photography 101: Bliss

  1. I like this post and I liked your pictures. No ideas on how to get the book where you want it unless someone sits under it and holds it up and you crop them out of the photo. Ha You are on your way to becoming a better photographer. Looks like fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing how you set up your shoot.

    One thing to consider is lighting. I have two, little, inexpensive, 50w halogen lights from Ikea that work wonders in the house when the flash is too much and no flash is too yellow.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome. What's on your mind?

